Sailors at the Lake Hopatcong Yacht Club concluded their season with races over the holiday weekend, and several longtime lake sailors finished the season with class championships. Tom Wiss IV, Danny Goritski, Bob Restrick, and Brian Kitchin won the E-Scow, A-Cat, Star, and Thistle class seasons respectively, finishing atop their fleets for a series of races that began Memorial Day and stretched through each summer Sunday, concluding on Labor Day. Wiss and Kitchin are both third-generation sailors out of the yacht club, and Restrick is a second-generation sailor.
Among junior sailors, Trent Pezzano was awarded the John Hoff Memorial Trophy, which recognizes an outstanding young sailor who participates in the club’s junior sailing program.  The junior sailing team champions for the summer were Georgie Malanga and Kyra Topor, who won their summer series in the 420 sailboat.
The crew trophy was presented to Renee Rochelle Feldman, who has been racing E-Scows on Lake Hopatcong with her parents and brother her entire life. In recent years, she has crewed for Douglas Johnson.  The Corinthian trophy, presented to someone who exhibits a Corinthian spirit, was awarded to George Drawbaugh.
Sailing continues with the Back to School Regatta for Optis and Lasers on September 18, the Thistle Goetz Regatta and E-Scow Fall Series Regatta on September 25 to 26, and A-Cat Regattas on October 2 and 3 and on October 17.

Tom Wiss, with crew Sophie Wiss, Brett Douglas, and Mike Douglas, at the Lake Hopatcong Yacht Club's annual Sailors' Luncheon. Wiss won the E-Scow class season at the club.
Danny Goritski, who won the A-Cat season at the Lake Hopatcong Yacht Club.
Bob Restrick, right, with crew Jeff Allen, accepting his trophy for winning the Star season at the Lake Hopatcong Yacht Club.
Brian Kitchin, with crew Emma Restrick.  Kitchin won the Thistle Class season at the club, and also sailed much of the season with Doug Kitchin and Alexa Gruber.
Trent Pezzano, with sailing instructor Brian Kitchin and John Hoff, accepting the John Hoff award for outstanding junior sailor.
Georgie Malanga and Kyra Topor, with instructors Brian Kitchin and Brett Wiss.  Malanga and Topor won the junior sailing team season series in 420s.

Leave a Reply

Please enter the word you see in the image below: